Twitter Facebook Instagram Google+ Tumblr YouTube E-Mail WhatsApp Sign In Check Close snapchat
Exit Clear

Watch American Pharoah Become the First Triple Crown Winner in 37 Years

Not since 1978 has there been a horse to won the Triple Crown, which consists of winning three races, the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes.

The New York Times did a great job of putting this incredible feat into prospective:

There had been only 11 of them in history, and America had elected five presidents, fought three wars and lived through at least three economic downturns since Affirmed had last completed the feat in 1978.

Even if you don’t care about thoroughbred horse racing, you have to admit that this is a pretty big deal.

In the record books, it will say American Pharoah covered the marathon distance in 2 minutes 26.65 seconds, paid his backers $3.50 on a $2 bet and fattened his earnings to more than $4.5 million for his owner, Ahmed Zayat.

Playboy Social

Never miss an issue. Subscribe and save today!