Since so many of you will be road-tripping to your parents’ this weekend to cheer on your younger siblings as they rummage through the shrubs for sugar-filled plastic, we thought you could use a little playlist inspiration. And for those of you whose Sunday morning journey will only last the length of the basement stairs…maybe your step-dad’s not a dick and you should get a job pal.

Yesterday we were presented with a surprise single from The National who have been relatively quiet since the release of their 2013 LP Trouble Will Find Me. Unfortunately, the new song was not dispensed in support of a new album. In fact, the new track isn’t new at all.

A leftover recording from their aforementioned album, “Sunshine On My Back” was unveiled as a promo for the group’s documentary Mistaken For Strangers – the song comes gratis with the purchase/rental of the flick. Listen to the new-ish tune below, featuring Sharon Van Etten, whose voice lovingly complements that of National frontman Matt Berninger. And we will now all wonder what other wonderful sounds this group could be keeping from us…

Rent/Buy Mistaken For Strangers here.

Fuck winter. My Morning Jacket is coming. After six studio albums and 16 years, when MMJ starts setting loose new material early spring, your internal almanac knows to buy tickets to whichever/whenever/wherever festival(s) they’ll be blowing apart throughout the summer.

This week the group released the second single off their seventh studio album The Waterfall. Check out the humid and howling “Spring (Among the Living)” below.

The Waterfall is scheduled to release May 4th via ATO/Capitol Records. And if you’re unable the catch the group at one of their many festival stops, their world tour, which kicks off next mid-May, looks pretty insane.

Back in 2012 Tanlines introduced us to their experimental brand of melancholic electropop. This year, we’ll be reacquainted with the duo via Highlights, and according to the two samples we’ve tasted thus far, their progression is never-ending. The production team of Chris Taylor (Grizzly Bear) and Patrick Ford (!!!) has undoubtedly impacted the group who in a press statement teased us with the description of “the sounds of 90’s New York hip-hop drums, Detroit techno synths, and lots and lots of guitars.”

The first track shared off Highlights was a New Wave dance jam, however, their latest, “Invisible Ways,” is a jangly Orbison-laced number.

Highlights is due out May 19th via Matador Records.

Boston’s Speedy Ortiz slipped out a third single off their forthcoming LP Foil Deer on Thursday entitled “Puffer.” The new song pulses and screeches with the ebb and flow of an industrial assembly line that’s fueled by frontwoman Sadie Dupuis’ sinister nursery rhyme.

Foil Deer is due out April 21st via Carpark Records.

Although it isn’t an official release, Baltimore’s Future Islands, who are currently working on their next album at Abbey Road, premiered new material at live at Sheffield Plug in the UK. Two songs were captured during their performance. Listen to “The Chase” and “Haunted” below.